Au Pair Experience of Erin

Hey everyone!
I’m Erin and I’m 23 years old. I started my au pair year in January. I’m living in a small suburb in Netherlands taking care of 4 young boys (yes 4, but it’s not as crazy as it sounds).
I have a great host family, made some lovely friends and I’m overall having a wonderful year so I’m very excited to share a bit of it with you!

In 2018 I spent 6 months backpacking around Europe and had a love at first sight moment with Netherlands. After that I vowed to come back one day.
After I returned from backpacking, I continued working towards my Human Nutrition Bachelor degree, but I wasn’t in love with what I was doing! Things fell into place an au pairing seemed like a nice gap year option. I had my heart set on returning to Netherlands but had my au pair world profile open to Italy and the UK. The applications were pouring in from every country but Netherlands, but my heart was set on the Dutch haha. I eventually found my host family and it all worked out in the end.

Being abroad during a global pandemic isn’t easy. At the beginning there was a moment I debated going home, I ended up staying, and I’m very happy with my decision. I had friends that went home, and they were also happy with they’re decision. Do what’s best for you, but don’t let fear stop you from what you really want!
Thankfully Netherlands didn’t go into a full out lockdown and we were still able to go for walks, and be outside. I had one friend who lived very close that I was able to bike to on weekends and during the week, we watched a lot of movies and had a lot of picnics, being able to have social connection was great for my mental health!
I was able to go to Spain during the summer to visit a friend, and I appreciated it so much more than I normally would have! If travel is safe take advantage of it! Remember to take all the necessary precautions and have fun!